Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Varano's Ristorante Italiano. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

By submitting, you agree to our , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Brian about 3 hours ago

Chicken Parmesan

It's hard to choose one dish to review because they are all so good, but the chicken parmesan is just so satisfying on so many levels. Is there a bigger piece of chicken on the southern Maine coast? Unlikely. And it's cooked to perfection every time - tender and juicy inside with a nice crust on the outside that adds a welcome texture. It's topped off with Varano's legendary sauce [gravy to some] that has such great 'comfort' to it. Of course, it has a terrific parmesan cheese finish, all over a bed of your favorite pasta. The portion is so generous, you can usually get 2 meals out of it, but sometimes I just can't stop eating it. Pair it with a nice bottle of sangiovese and you'll find yourself in southern Italy rather than southern Maine.

Sharon2941 2 days ago

Eggplant Parmesan

Only true Italians know how to make eggplant parmesan and Verano's is the BEST. When making eggplant parmesan only true Italians peel the eggplant, my grandmother and family are from Italy and she taught me how to make eggplant parmesan, Verano's taste just like my nana's. Well done! Please don't ever stop doing what you do. Thank you.

Johng03825 15 days ago

Arancini

The claim sauce is out of this world. The best I ever had. Service is top of the line. We were greeted as if we were important customers. Great experience.

Lcvc54 24 days ago

Marsala

Always delicious! & Gordon makes fabulous cocktails!

Rhonda 27 days ago

Gnocchi Saute

This is our go to Italian Restaurant! We go several times in a year.It is our favorite and the best food around. This is real and delicious Italian food. We try something new on the menu every time and we are never disappointed!! The service is always great and very friendly. I highly recommend Varano's

Warren214jersey about 1 month ago

Lasagna

This Lasagna Dish is one of the best - just great I must say have been here several times & all the dishes I had were cooked to perfection! Love all the apps😋😋🤗

Srs1928 about 1 month ago

Veal Parmesan

It is very hard to find quality Italian food. I am extremely picky about my Italian food since I grew up in a Italian family. I ordered the Veal Parmesan dinner it was a large portion and could cut it with a fork. I definitely recommend this dish. You will not be disappointed.

Guest about 1 month ago

Prime New York Strip

Another winner.

Joannegrace777 about 2 months ago

Shrimp Scampi

MY- MY- MY! Took my 94-year young Mother Josephine, also celebrating her February birthday to Varano's Ristorante on Valentine's Day for evening dinner. Her Maniscalco Sicilian blood called for good Italian food. Surprised to see a crowd at 4:30 open and wait for seating, we decided to sit at the bar for appetizers. We ordered MUSSELS & CALAMARI, all delivered in good portion, the taste- INCREDIBLE! We so enjoyed the atmosphere at bar seating and interaction with Gordon who served and waited on us. Gordon went over the top at a very busy time with an aim-to-please attitude while maintaining a smile, sense-of-humor and professional demeanor. So impressed and comfortable we remained and ordered our meal, "Shrimp Scampi"! My gosh, the dish was filled with JUMBO Shrimp and all So-So DELICIOUS! Salad and bread with garlic dipping was an added bonus! Mom wanted a Cannoli for dessert, Gordon encouraged putting a candle on. It was an "Awestruck" moment to see Gordon walk toward us singing "Happy Birthday" to Mom as the crowd joined in. Now, we are original Massachusetts people and finding quality Italian pastry/Cannoli in Maine is almost non-existent. BUT, Varano's made on-site Cannoli was FANTASTIC! The shell crispy, light with body and YUMMY taste. The Cannoli filling, "To Die For"; smooth, rich and creamy, not overly sweet, good quality. Now for the GRAND FINALE that was a shocker! As I awaited the bill to pay, I was informed by Gordon that 2 gentlemen sitting near us paid our bill as a Birthday gift to Mom. We were stunned and it took us a bit to absorb! My Mom said it will be a "Memory Forever" and a best moment! The whole packaged evening was a "SPECIAL BLESSING" to us. "GRAZIE" to Varano's Ristorante, Staff, Gordon, and a special "Thank You" to the 2 Incognito Gentlemen that added their Gift of LOVE to us. ~Joanne Grace, Kennebunkport, Maine~

Ryan about 2 months ago

Fried Mozzarella

This is by far my favorite appetizer of all time. 10/10 do recommend.

Ej0807 about 2 months ago

Frutti Di Mare

One if my many favorite dishes!! Love the atmosphere, and the staff!!

Cher2mare 2 months ago

Eggplant Parmesan

A generous amount of eggplant is thinly cut and stacked with an overlay of delicious sauce. A 'bonus' side of pasta is added on as well. This is my favorite meal and they do it so well. Highly recommend!!

Bpage 2 months ago

Shrimp Scampi

This was a most delicious shrimp scampi, probably the best that I have ever had. It was cooked to perfection, and had at least 8 jumbo shrimp. I ended up taking a portion home which made for a wonderful lunch the following day! Highly recommend this dinner selection!

Dale 2 months ago

Grilled Salmon

So delisous moist and cooked perfect the sauce is perfect I have it every time i go

Kvncher 2 months ago

Frutti Di Mare

Was without a doubt the best Frutti Di Mare I've ever had. Portion size was perfect but I was sad upon finishing as I wanted more. I would have recommend this dish to anyone!!

Elizjudd 2 months ago

Shrimp Scampi

Amazing Authentic Italian Food!!! Shrimp Scampi is just one of my many favorites! Wonderful Italian Restaurant, great atmosphere, and amazing waitstaff... We always enjoy!!

Kathy 2 months ago

Shrimp Scampi

Heavenly!!!!! The shrimp scampi was the best I have ever tasted in a restaurant. The shrimp were fresh and the pasta cooked to perfection. I would definitely return to this restaurant and recommend it to anyone . I can't remember having a better Italian meal.

Katilyncoburn 2 months ago

Pasta With Marinara

Finding gluten free pasta options anywhere is TOUGH. But Varano's not only has gluten free pasta options, there dishes are one of the best around.

Sueb825 2 months ago

Pork Chop

Love pork chops and this was a large one. They asked us how we wanted it cooked and no one had every asked us that as we thought it always had to be well done (and DRY). The waitress convinced us to have it cooked as the chef would at Medium. We trusted them and thank God we did! The BEST piece of pork we have ever had! It opened our eyes to how delicious this could be cooked the right way!!! The entire meal was fantastic and we have raved to everyone that will listen. We drive 1 hour and 15 minutes to have this dinner!!

Kegandodge 2 months ago

Lasagna

It was excellent. It has the perfect amount of cheese and sauce balance and not to mention that the sauce is PERFECTION. Great place with great food.

Lanctot about 22 hours ago

Gnocchi Saute

always amazing!

Joannegrace777 7 days ago

Fried Calamari

OMGosh! So GOOD and plenty!

Cdraper38 15 days ago

Chicken Parmesan

Best Chicken Parmesan that i have ever had in my life. Homemade sauce, perfect chicken & penne. I get this meal every time that I come to Varano's. This is my main dish & I wouldn't have it any other way.

Jmkolias 24 days ago

Eggplant Parmesan

Great flavor and portion - had to take some home. Be back again since my husband also liked the Chicken Parmesan.

Kafisher7 about 1 month ago

Orvieto

One word—Delicious! Highly recommend!! You will not be disappointed.

Anthony about 1 month ago

Chicken Parmesan

We loved our Dinner, Chicken Parmesan was Amazing! Service was wonderful, and we are so glad we found this Gem of a restaurant!

Praby about 1 month ago

Eggplant Parmesan

This place is a wow for me. The Eggplant Parm, the Calamari, the fresh parm amd garlic and olive oil to dip your bread is truly one of a kind. Always a must when I am around!

Mgc43 about 1 month ago

Chicken Parmesan

Their chicken Parmesan is my favorite. The portion is huge. So I get to take any leftovers home. And if you don't see what you want on the menu, just ask. They are very accommodating. My son is a vegan and this is only one of the few places he can get something tasty to eat. Can't wait until they open up for lunch again.

Jcmdonnelly about 2 months ago

Chicken Braccioletine

One of the best dishes I've ever headland would get it again next time in. No other restaurants have this dish at least the ones I've been to. My compliments to the chef!

Wayne about 2 months ago

Veal Parmesan

You know a place is good when you use to work there, rave to friends about how good it is, and then compare other italian restaurant meals to the dishes you have eaten at Varano's. It has been almost 20 years since I have worked there, and still, I go back at LEAST once a month with friends and family.

Dem664 about 2 months ago

Orvieto

My favorite is the chicken 0rvieto ( they have veal) mushrooms, kalamata olives with artichoke hearts in a white sauce, this is to die for. The service is always outstanding! PS the bread and oil yummy!

Kmcdonaldmaine 2 months ago

Grilled Salmon

Very good salmon dish. Perfect size, taste, and presentation. Ordered a side salad and had plenty for the meal.

Lawire14 2 months ago

Lasagna

Incredible lasagna. Not sure but probably the best I've ever had including Little Italy in NYC. Fresh fresh fresh mozzarella and ricotta. The cheese drips from the tender lasagna noodles and sauce is just amazing!

Kvncher 2 months ago

Chicken Parmesan

My wife is the most fussy eater I've ever met. We enjoyed dinner at Varano's the last time we were in Maine and she ranted and raved about her meal for the rest of the evening! We will definitely be dinning with Varano's again during our next visit in the end of February. Neither of us can wait!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Kvncher 2 months ago

Fried Calamari

Outstanding!!! So tender and cooked to perfection.

Ej0807 2 months ago

Orvieto

Amazing authentic cuisine! Shrimp Scampi is the best along with all my other favorites!!! It's our favorite restaurant in Wells❤️

Paula 2 months ago

Baked Lasagna

Best food in Maine! You will never leave hungry! Have not ever been disappointed and we have tried many dishes. You have to go!!! Great Valentine's dinner!

Pdouc44597 2 months ago

Frutti Di Mare

this dish is awesome and I come to Maine just to order this and the staff at Varanaos is wonderful!!!

Katsco413 2 months ago

Veal Parmigiana

My incredible meal started with a Caesar salad that was created to perfection, followed by a huge portion of incredibly delicious veal parmigiana, and topped off with a yummy cannoli (pistachio). I must admit, I had take-out leftovers that were enjoyed just as much the next day as in the restaurant. Will return for other dishes, but this will be difficult not to order every time!

Feliciadesjardins 2 months ago

Arancini

Delicious!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

February 2020
Coming Soon

January 2020
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA