Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Varano's Ristorante Italiano. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

By submitting, you agree to our , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Jcalkan about 16 hours ago

Veal Parmesan

Best Veal Parm as good as in the North End Sauce is excellent Great staff- waitress Tracey was awesome

Jgworek1 7 days ago

Pork Chop

All you need to know is this is a 2 inch thick pork chop you can cut with your fork ... really! Varano's has been a must visit for years- always great.

Hwiggins444 18 days ago

Rigatoni Bolognese

This is -without a doubt- the BEST bolognese I have ever had! We live in Massachusetts and I would make a trip up to Maine just for this dish alone! The pasta is perfectly cooked and the bolognese sauce is bursting with flavor and filled with meat. It's a very generous portion too! You won't leave here hungry. I highly recommend Verano's for your next date night or special family meal!

Ayeomelakis 24 days ago

Orvieto

One of my favorite dishes!! The Orvieto is so flavorful with all fresh ingredients. The portions never leave you hungry, but the flavor will always leave you wanting more. The staff is welcoming and the service always top notch. PS so many other good dishes as well...the veal parm and shrimp scampi also worth a try!!! Love this place!

Katilyncoburn about 1 month ago

Fettuccini Alfredo

It's hard to find good gluten free Italian and this place is one of the best!

Lportelli1 about 1 month ago

Marsala

Amazing dish!!! The Marsala sauce is the best my husband and I have tasted. Having lived in NYC for many years, we've had the opportunity to enjoy some of the finest foods in the country. This dish is a class of it own. Outstanding!

Rick about 2 months ago

Chicken Parmesan

My wife and I had dinner at Varano's on our anniversary last weekend. The service was great and the food is excellent! We had a great time!

Rptrav about 2 months ago

Shrimp Scampi

There Truly is Not One Entree on the Menu That Isn't Spectacular!!

Dan about 2 months ago

Veal Parmesan

I started with an order of pasta fagioli, and was charmed by the Chef's unique take on this timeless standard. I choose veal parmigiana for my entree, and a great choice it was! Seeing that I'd exhausted the bread basket's ample suppy, our waitress offered to bring more. I'm glad I declined, because as it was I ended up taking home a well filled doggie bag. Good, er...no: great stuff!!

Rptrav about 2 months ago

Orvieto

I have been going to Varanos for many years and unlike some restaurants I have never been disappointed. From the moment you walk in the door and greeted by Roger and his staff to sitting down and having a phenomenal dinner I highly recommend this restaurant. The Best!!

Nicovarano123 2 months ago

Chicken Parmesan

My meal was amazing and service was great. I believe I am related to the owner of this restaurant.

Mviens 2 months ago

Marsala

This is by far the best Italian food my husband and I have had. Beats out the north end Boston even. The owner is Always on site to greet AND you see him helping the staff. Eating at the bar is also fun. Gordon is wonderful.

186bridgestberlin 2 months ago

Fettuccini Alfredo

I ordered broccoli with the fettuccini alfredo and I must say it was the best fettuccini alfredo dish I have ever had in my life. The entree is one that I can actually finish, whereas most other restaurants make it much too heavy. The cream sauce and pasta are the perfect amounts for an entree, not leaving me with that tired, uncomfortably full feeling. The salad and appetizers my table shared were also outstanding. Jill, LeeAnn, and all of the other waitresses are always so pleasant and accommodating at each visit when I dine here with my family.

Lks9 2 months ago

Orvieto

Had our first visit. Brandy our server was fantastic and the food was wonderful. We have made this our new top spot in wells and look forward to trying many more dishes.

Judyex9 2 months ago

Seafood Fettucini

Absolutely delicious! Lots of seafood, big chunks of lobster, scallops & shrimp. Nice atmosphere, quaint Italy Restaurant. You know the food is going to be good when walk in & smell all the delicious aromas of Italian food. We make a point of eating here every time we vacation in Maine.

Dlconnolly48 3 months ago

Veal Parmesan

Started with Bruschetta and it was delicious Had the veal parmigiana for my meal and it's one of the best I have ever had. Service was outstanding Have been here many times and will continue to come 5 Stars

Spencebj19 3 months ago

Bruschetta

Have had the bruschetta twice. The first time it was amazing. The tomatoes tasted garden fresh and the ciabatta perfectly toasted. The second time the ciabatta was burnt which overpowered the other ingredients. Deciding whether to give it another try!

Victorea 3 months ago

Orvieto

Exceptional Service and Amazing Italian Food! We arrived shortly after they opened (4:30 p.m.) on 9/4/2019. We were seated at a lovely window table without asking for a window. Awesome! Shannon (our server) was welcoming and patient. She is an exceptional server who was knowledgable about all dishes on the menu. Shannon even refilled my sparkling water glass from the quart bottle as though it were a fine wine! She is a wonderful asset to Varano's! My companion was very pleased with her cheese ravioli and meatballs. I had Chicken Orvieto - sautéed with mushrooms, artichoke hearts & kalamata olives in a lemon white wine butter sauce. Delicious! We started with crusty warm Italian bread and a plate of garlic and olive oil. The Caprese salad was to live for! Of course, we brought home leftovers. Varano's was a delightful find in the heart of Wells, Maine. We live in Kentucky and wish Varano's was closer!!

Candace 3 months ago

Chicken Parmesan

My husband and I visited August 25th. We were cares for by Julia G. Who was a joy. My husband had the Chicken Parmesan and I had the absolutely delicious Salmon Special. We will certainly be back

Joycegraves298 3 months ago

Seafood Fettucini

What a great place. The food was amazing. Arrive with an appetite as the portions are very big. Great atmosphere. Our waitress was very attentive. We are headed back for a second night on our vacation. YUM!!

Jchaput72 7 days ago

Chicken Parmesan

Been coming here for quite a few years and I can't find a single thing to complain about. My go to has always been the chicken parmesan. Perfectly cooked every time, generous portion and exceptional marinara sauce. I've had other dishes, and they've all been delicious. Great food, atmosphere and staff. My favorite Italian restaurant in Maine.

Edlupkas 18 days ago

Veal Parmesan

OMG when you think of Maine you think seafood. Varano's is absolutely the best Italian food I've ever had . Love the sauce the atmosphere the bread just everything. Vacationing from Connecticut can't wait to come back.

Matthew 19 days ago

Rigatoni Bolognese

Amazing dish. Fantastic portions. Fresh ingredients. Wonderful atmosphere.

Ej0807 about 1 month ago

Shrimp Scampi

Our favorite restaurant! Very authentic, food is amazing.. Roger is so inviting, and Tracey (Trixie) is our favorite server😊

Katke001 about 1 month ago

Chicken Braccioletine

Trying to figure out if it's bad form to lick your plate clean! This dish was absolutley delicious, the marsala sauce was divine! Pefectly cooked and presented. Our waitress, Samantha, was awesome- attentive without being overbearing. Thoroughly enjoyed our anniversay dinner and will be back!

Lportelli1 about 1 month ago

Side of Meatballs

I think the best way to judge an Italian restaurant is by tasting the basics - meatballs, sausage, pasta, bread, and wine. These meatballs are perfection...moist and flavorful. I'm guessing it is a blend of beef and veal. The delicious flavor extends with every chew, paired off nicely with a glass of Chianti. You won't be disappointed.

Pierre about 2 months ago

Frutti Di Mare

fresh seafood cooked perfectly, sauce absolutely delicious and the parmesan chips and grilled bread really finish the dish.

Dan about 2 months ago

Rigatoni Bolognese

Although I thoroughly enjoyed the veal parmigiana I ordered, I confess to having eaten the contents of my girlfriend's doggie bag: most of an order of rigatoni bolegnese. This dish is fantastic! The blend of veal, pork and beef is simply exquisite, and it was well worth however much time I'll spend in the dog house for having wolfed it down.

Mrs about 2 months ago

Chicken Parmesan

Wonderful atmosphere, delicious food with good portions, friendly staff. This was our first visit, but we will be back. Thank you for making our anniversary special.

Jasontremblay about 2 months ago

Seafood Fettucini

The dish had a wonderful flavor of gorgonzola and a piece of seafood in every bit. A taste of heaven!!

Ang2890 2 months ago

Eggplant Parmesan

This restaurant is amazing!!! I brought my fiance here for her birthday and we couldnt have asked for a better experience. From the service to the food, this place is a five star location. We can't wait to come back!

Gorham60f35 2 months ago

Eggplant Parmesan

We love Varano's and travel 2 1/2 hours one way just to enjoy their deliciousness. I pretty much always get the eggplant parm which is awesome! I always have leftovers for lunch the next day which my co workers envy. Hubby tries different things and everything we have tried is fantastic. Great staff and great food

Mjarrott 2 months ago

Chicken Parmesan

I'm a big fan of veal and eggplant parmesan but I continue to order the chicken parmesan because it is excellent. I'm Italian and make a very good tomato sauce, but Varano's is very similar to mine and it is rare for me to find that in an Italian restaurant. Also, portions are very generous.

Sydney 2 months ago

Cannoli Stuffed French Toast

I have never been a fan of ordering french toast for breakfast. At most places, it comes soggy, semi-warm, and just blech. THIS however, is by far the best french toast that I have ever had. The cannoli filling is to die for and it is not soggy. The strawberry sauce on top is also amazing. Personally, I wish they offered a raspberry alternative, but the strawberry is very good. This is my go-to for brunch!

Dlconnolly48 3 months ago

Bruschetta

I have had this many times and it was delicious. This last time they changed it up and the Tomatoes were too big!! Much better when cut smaller so you can put it on the bread. The bread was also burned

Kabonafilia 3 months ago

Linguine or Penne With Bolognese

Delicious the sauce was seasoned and slow simmered to perfection. The wine that was recommended Colosi Nero D'Avola was do good..even to the last drop. You can not beat Varano's for wonderful food, welcoming atmosphere and views of the ocean. Really what could be better!

Barry 3 months ago

Chicken Parmesan

Have had several times, always excellent, also always too much to finish....

Jo Ann 3 months ago

Veal Parmesan

Best Veal Parm! Excellent presentation, marinara sauce was delicious. Would definitely recommend this Restaurant for anyone looking for good Italian food.

Sherit123 3 months ago

Antipasto Salad

My husband and I have been coming back here ever since we found it. Best of everything, starting with the antipasto. All meals we have tried were superb sausage, chicken parmesan , veal parmesean, steak etc..❣️ We moved to SC 3 years ago and can't wait to find our way back to Varano's restaurant. coming up soon. DELICIOUS 😋



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

October:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co., Portland, OR

September:
Amanda, Home Restaurant, Los Angeles, CA

August:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill - Columbus, GA

July:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet - Buffalo, NY

June:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar - Cape Cod, MA

May:
Karen, This Little Pig - Amherst, NY

April:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria - Atlanta, GA