Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Varano's Ristorante Italiano. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

By submitting, you agree to our , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Joannegrace777 1 day ago

Shrimp Scampi

MY- MY- MY! Took my 94-year young Mother Josephine, also celebrating her February birthday to Varano's Ristorante on Valentine's Day for evening dinner. Her Maniscalco Sicilian blood called for good Italian food. Surprised to see a crowd at 4:30 open and wait for seating, we decided to sit at the bar for appetizers. We ordered MUSSELS & CALAMARI, all delivered in good portion, the taste- INCREDIBLE! We so enjoyed the atmosphere at bar seating and interaction with Gordon who served and waited on us. Gordon went over the top at a very busy time with an aim-to-please attitude while maintaining a smile, sense-of-humor and professional demeanor. So impressed and comfortable we remained and ordered our meal, "Shrimp Scampi"! My gosh, the dish was filled with JUMBO Shrimp and all So-So DELICIOUS! Salad and bread with garlic dipping was an added bonus! Mom wanted a Cannoli for dessert, Gordon encouraged putting a candle on. It was an "Awestruck" moment to see Gordon walk toward us singing "Happy Birthday" to Mom as the crowd joined in. Now, we are original Massachusetts people and finding quality Italian pastry/Cannoli in Maine is almost non-existent. BUT, Varano's made on-site Cannoli was FANTASTIC! The shell crispy, light with body and YUMMY taste. The Cannoli filling, "To Die For"; smooth, rich and creamy, not overly sweet, good quality. Now for the GRAND FINALE that was a shocker! As I awaited the bill to pay, I was informed by Gordon that 2 gentlemen sitting near us paid our bill as a Birthday gift to Mom. We were stunned and it took us a bit to absorb! My Mom said it will be a "Memory Forever" and a best moment! The whole packaged evening was a "SPECIAL BLESSING" to us. "GRAZIE" to Varano's Ristorante, Staff, Gordon, and a special "Thank You" to the 2 Incognito Gentlemen that added their Gift of LOVE to us. ~Joanne Grace, Kennebunkport, Maine~

Ryan 4 days ago

Fried Mozzarella

This is by far my favorite appetizer of all time. 10/10 do recommend.

Ej0807 13 days ago

Frutti Di Mare

One if my many favorite dishes!! Love the atmosphere, and the staff!!

Cher2mare 16 days ago

Eggplant Parmesan

A generous amount of eggplant is thinly cut and stacked with an overlay of delicious sauce. A 'bonus' side of pasta is added on as well. This is my favorite meal and they do it so well. Highly recommend!!

Bpage 18 days ago

Shrimp Scampi

This was a most delicious shrimp scampi, probably the best that I have ever had. It was cooked to perfection, and had at least 8 jumbo shrimp. I ended up taking a portion home which made for a wonderful lunch the following day! Highly recommend this dinner selection!

Dale 19 days ago

Grilled Salmon

So delisous moist and cooked perfect the sauce is perfect I have it every time i go

Kvncher 19 days ago

Frutti Di Mare

Was without a doubt the best Frutti Di Mare I've ever had. Portion size was perfect but I was sad upon finishing as I wanted more. I would have recommend this dish to anyone!!

Ej0807 19 days ago

Orvieto

Amazing authentic cuisine! Shrimp Scampi is the best along with all my other favorites!!! It's our favorite restaurant in Wells❤️

Paula 19 days ago

Baked Lasagna

Best food in Maine! You will never leave hungry! Have not ever been disappointed and we have tried many dishes. You have to go!!! Great Valentine's dinner!

Pdouc44597 19 days ago

Frutti Di Mare

this dish is awesome and I come to Maine just to order this and the staff at Varanaos is wonderful!!!

Katsco413 19 days ago

Veal Parmigiana

My incredible meal started with a Caesar salad that was created to perfection, followed by a huge portion of incredibly delicious veal parmigiana, and topped off with a yummy cannoli (pistachio). I must admit, I had take-out leftovers that were enjoyed just as much the next day as in the restaurant. Will return for other dishes, but this will be difficult not to order every time!

Feliciadesjardins 24 days ago

Arancini

Delicious!

Jimmy about 1 month ago

Side of Meatballs

Did someone say meatballs ? Home made at it's best ! If you don't have them with your meal, order some to take home. A treat you simply can't pass by !

Jimmy about 1 month ago

Prime New York Strip

It's not often I would order steak other than a steak house. However, this dish was simply delicious. The portion size and price cannot be matched. Cooked to perfection ! Another new treat worth a return visit !

Naginasawant about 1 month ago

Chicken Parmesan

Awesome food..perfect

Lbthom927 about 2 months ago

Chicken Braccioletine

This is my favorite dish. I get it every time I go.

Kabonafilia 2 months ago

Caesar Salad

Do you know what is is crisper and at the same time creamer than the Ceasar salad at Varano's? Nothing! It is delicious.

Jchaput72 3 months ago

Chicken Parmesan

Been coming here for quite a few years and I can't find a single thing to complain about. My go to has always been the chicken parmesan. Perfectly cooked every time, generous portion and exceptional marinara sauce. I've had other dishes, and they've all been delicious. Great food, atmosphere and staff. My favorite Italian restaurant in Maine.

Edlupkas 3 months ago

Veal Parmesan

OMG when you think of Maine you think seafood. Varano's is absolutely the best Italian food I've ever had . Love the sauce the atmosphere the bread just everything. Vacationing from Connecticut can't wait to come back.

Matthew 3 months ago

Rigatoni Bolognese

Amazing dish. Fantastic portions. Fresh ingredients. Wonderful atmosphere.

Jcmdonnelly 3 days ago

Chicken Braccioletine

One of the best dishes I've ever headland would get it again next time in. No other restaurants have this dish at least the ones I've been to. My compliments to the chef!

Wayne 9 days ago

Veal Parmesan

You know a place is good when you use to work there, rave to friends about how good it is, and then compare other italian restaurant meals to the dishes you have eaten at Varano's. It has been almost 20 years since I have worked there, and still, I go back at LEAST once a month with friends and family.

Dem664 13 days ago

Orvieto

My favorite is the chicken 0rvieto ( they have veal) mushrooms, kalamata olives with artichoke hearts in a white sauce, this is to die for. The service is always outstanding! PS the bread and oil yummy!

Kmcdonaldmaine 17 days ago

Grilled Salmon

Very good salmon dish. Perfect size, taste, and presentation. Ordered a side salad and had plenty for the meal.

Lawire14 19 days ago

Lasagna

Incredible lasagna. Not sure but probably the best I've ever had including Little Italy in NYC. Fresh fresh fresh mozzarella and ricotta. The cheese drips from the tender lasagna noodles and sauce is just amazing!

Kvncher 19 days ago

Chicken Parmesan

My wife is the most fussy eater I've ever met. We enjoyed dinner at Varano's the last time we were in Maine and she ranted and raved about her meal for the rest of the evening! We will definitely be dinning with Varano's again during our next visit in the end of February. Neither of us can wait!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Kvncher 19 days ago

Fried Calamari

Outstanding!!! So tender and cooked to perfection.

Kathy 19 days ago

Shrimp Scampi

Heavenly!!!!! The shrimp scampi was the best I have ever tasted in a restaurant. The shrimp were fresh and the pasta cooked to perfection. I would definitely return to this restaurant and recommend it to anyone . I can't remember having a better Italian meal.

Katilyncoburn 19 days ago

Pasta With Marinara

Finding gluten free pasta options anywhere is TOUGH. But Varano's not only has gluten free pasta options, there dishes are one of the best around.

Sueb825 19 days ago

Pork Chop

Love pork chops and this was a large one. They asked us how we wanted it cooked and no one had every asked us that as we thought it always had to be well done (and DRY). The waitress convinced us to have it cooked as the chef would at Medium. We trusted them and thank God we did! The BEST piece of pork we have ever had! It opened our eyes to how delicious this could be cooked the right way!!! The entire meal was fantastic and we have raved to everyone that will listen. We drive 1 hour and 15 minutes to have this dinner!!

Kegandodge 24 days ago

Lasagna

It was excellent. It has the perfect amount of cheese and sauce balance and not to mention that the sauce is PERFECTION. Great place with great food.

Sully0633 25 days ago

Chicken Parmesan

Everything at Varanos is delicious but we are so happy that the Chicken Braccioletine is back on the menu. The wine selection is awesome and the waitstaff is the best!!

Jimmy about 1 month ago

Chicken Braccioletine

Although I have been totally pleased with many delicious meals at this fine restaurant, this is my staple dish. Bring your appetite and save room for desert !

Linda11nivala about 1 month ago

Lasagna

I'm the first to say that I'm a very picky eater. But some times I have to go outside the comfort zone and try new things. So I did last summer. The lasagna was yummy not to much ricotta cheese which I don't like. It was a great meal and you have me hooked..

Sully0633 about 1 month ago

Chicken Braccioletine

We can't thank you enough for putting this back on the menu. Thankfully we went right before they closed for winter break. ♥️♥️♥️

Irish93121 about 2 months ago

Veal Parmesan

My go to dish at Varanos, Consistently well prepared and served with the pasta of your choice. Portions are very generous so always hav lunch the next day

Jcalkan 2 months ago

Veal Parmesan

Best Veal Parm as good as in the North End Sauce is excellent Great staff- waitress Tracey was awesome

Jgworek1 3 months ago

Pork Chop

All you need to know is this is a 2 inch thick pork chop you can cut with your fork ... really! Varano's has been a must visit for years- always great.

Hwiggins444 3 months ago

Rigatoni Bolognese

This is -without a doubt- the BEST bolognese I have ever had! We live in Massachusetts and I would make a trip up to Maine just for this dish alone! The pasta is perfectly cooked and the bolognese sauce is bursting with flavor and filled with meat. It's a very generous portion too! You won't leave here hungry. I highly recommend Verano's for your next date night or special family meal!

Ayeomelakis 3 months ago

Orvieto

One of my favorite dishes!! The Orvieto is so flavorful with all fresh ingredients. The portions never leave you hungry, but the flavor will always leave you wanting more. The staff is welcoming and the service always top notch. PS so many other good dishes as well...the veal parm and shrimp scampi also worth a try!!! Love this place!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

January 2020
Coming Soon

December:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co., Portland, OR

September:
Amanda, Home Restaurant, Los Angeles, CA

August:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill - Columbus, GA

July:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet - Buffalo, NY

June:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar - Cape Cod, MA

May:
Karen, This Little Pig - Amherst, NY

April:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria - Atlanta, GA