Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Varano's Ristorante Italiano. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

By submitting, you agree to our , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Trinarock24 12 days ago

Steamed Mussels

The steamed mussels are unbelievable. The mussels taste like they were just scooped up from the ocean and probably are. My cousin and I are from New York and have had steamed mussels from many restaurants. This dish from Verano's is THE MOST DELICIOUS we have ever tasted. But all their food is excellent and dinning is an experience . The servers are amazing and the food is brought to the table HOT. We're coming up in July and I will probably eat at Verano's every night.

Pmadden0408 29 days ago

Orvieto

This is my favorite dish. I order the Orvieto 75% of the time. The other 25% I try another dish and love it. But I can get enough of the Orvieto. This is by far my favorite restaurant in all of new England.

Shanebrophy42 about 1 month ago

Frutti Di Mare

Awesome dish with big bold flavor. Can't wait to get back to have it again.

Bob about 1 month ago

Veal Parmigiana

Varano's veal parmigiana is as good it gets! I'm a seasonal resident in Wells and I look forward to this meal all winter long. Growing up in the suburbs of Boston I enjoyed Italian food from the North End, but this meal is better than anything I can find there today!

Rvitali23 2 months ago

Chicken Parmesan

Always great! Pasta cooked perfect, house marinara is delicious! That combined with perfectly cooked moist chicken is my favorite!

Susan 2 months ago

Lasagna

Sadly, it's been a couple years since we have been able to visit Varano's, but the memory of that evening lingers still. The one dish my brother ordered remains the most memorable... it was simply lasagna . Amazing, delightful, melt-in-your-chair with tears streaming down your face delicious! Honest. No exaggeration. 😄. My sister and I are headed for a few days vacation in the Wells area in early June and the plan is to hit Varano's at least twice in the 48 hours that we will be there! Can't wait!

Richard 2 months ago

Lasagna

Fantastic, fabulous, i can go on but you get the idea. No matter what you choose it will be wonderful.

Rcg2961 3 months ago

Veal Parmesan

WOW, hard to find tender delicious Veal Parm that you can cut with a fork!!! But it is still available at Varano's. mate it with their perfectly cooked pasta and wonderful sauce and you think you have gone to heaven. So glad to be a Wells Resident so we can experience Varano's often. Thanks DONT CHANGE A THING!

Sully0633 3 months ago

Chicken Parmigiana

This is one of our favorite dishes at Varanos. We got a to-go order and it was almost as good as visiting our favorite restaurant in person. We're going back again for the Chicken Parm this week. Lets all support these good folks during these hard times. We're also buying gift certificates!!

Lanctot 3 months ago

Gnocchi Saute

always amazing!

Sharon2941 3 months ago

Eggplant Parmesan

Only true Italians know how to make eggplant parmesan and Verano's is the BEST. When making eggplant parmesan only true Italians peel the eggplant, my grandmother and family are from Italy and she taught me how to make eggplant parmesan, Verano's taste just like my nana's. Well done! Please don't ever stop doing what you do. Thank you.

Johng03825 4 months ago

Arancini

The claim sauce is out of this world. The best I ever had. Service is top of the line. We were greeted as if we were important customers. Great experience.

Lcvc54 4 months ago

Marsala

Always delicious! & Gordon makes fabulous cocktails!

Rhonda 4 months ago

Gnocchi Saute

This is our go to Italian Restaurant! We go several times in a year.It is our favorite and the best food around. This is real and delicious Italian food. We try something new on the menu every time and we are never disappointed!! The service is always great and very friendly. I highly recommend Varano's

Warren214jersey 5 months ago

Lasagna

This Lasagna Dish is one of the best - just great I must say have been here several times & all the dishes I had were cooked to perfection! Love all the apps😋😋🤗

Srs1928 5 months ago

Veal Parmesan

It is very hard to find quality Italian food. I am extremely picky about my Italian food since I grew up in a Italian family. I ordered the Veal Parmesan dinner it was a large portion and could cut it with a fork. I definitely recommend this dish. You will not be disappointed.

Joanne 5 months ago

Shrimp Scampi

MY- MY- MY! Took my 94-year young Mother Josephine, also celebrating her February birthday to Varano's Ristorante on Valentine's Day for evening dinner. Her Maniscalco Sicilian blood called for good Italian food. Surprised to see a crowd at 4:30 open and wait for seating, we decided to sit at the bar for appetizers. We ordered MUSSELS & CALAMARI, all delivered in good portion, the taste- INCREDIBLE! We so enjoyed the atmosphere at bar seating and interaction with Gordon who served and waited on us. Gordon went over the top at a very busy time with an aim-to-please attitude while maintaining a smile, sense-of-humor and professional demeanor. So impressed and comfortable we remained and ordered our meal, "Shrimp Scampi"! My gosh, the dish was filled with JUMBO Shrimp and all So-So DELICIOUS! Salad and bread with garlic dipping was an added bonus! Mom wanted a Cannoli for dessert, Gordon encouraged putting a candle on. It was an "Awestruck" moment to see Gordon walk toward us singing "Happy Birthday" to Mom as the crowd joined in. Now, we are original Massachusetts people and finding quality Italian pastry/Cannoli in Maine is almost non-existent. BUT, Varano's made on-site Cannoli was FANTASTIC! The shell crispy, light with body and YUMMY taste. The Cannoli filling, "To Die For"; smooth, rich and creamy, not overly sweet, good quality. Now for the GRAND FINALE that was a shocker! As I awaited the bill to pay, I was informed by Gordon that 2 gentlemen sitting near us paid our bill as a Birthday gift to Mom. We were stunned and it took us a bit to absorb! My Mom said it will be a "Memory Forever" and a best moment! The whole packaged evening was a "SPECIAL BLESSING" to us. "GRAZIE" to Varano's Ristorante, Staff, Gordon, and a special "Thank You" to the 2 Incognito Gentlemen that added their Gift of LOVE to us. ~Joanne Grace, Kennebunkport, Maine~

Ryan 5 months ago

Fried Mozzarella

This is by far my favorite appetizer of all time. 10/10 do recommend.

Ej0807 5 months ago

Frutti Di Mare

One if my many favorite dishes!! Love the atmosphere, and the staff!!

Anzivino 28 days ago

Shrimp Scampi

This is one of our favorite restaurants and one of my favorite dishes. We were excited that Varano's opened for outside dining just before our anniversary. It was really good to see all the familiar staff and have again the wonderful Italian food--was like being back in Florence, Italy! We also took veal picatta home for the next night--also wonderful!!!

Zayda about 1 month ago

Fettuccini Alfredo

Just finished dining at Varano's for my girlfriend and Is anniversary. After seeing all of the glowing reviews for the Alfredo, I decided to order it and let me tell you.. it does not disappoint! Creamy, perfectly balanced with the fettuccine. Funny little story, I assumed the pasta would be underdressed so I order extra sauce, once the pasta arrived I was pleased to see that my plate had plenty of sauce. I was satisfied with my extra sauce, until I realized that the extra sauce was on the side and that was just the regular portion! Always great to be pleasantly surprised.. and of course the extra sauce did not go to waste LoL. Service was also wonderful!

Barbara about 1 month ago

Eggplant Parmesan

I love Eggplant Parmesan, and this always melts in my mouth! Hits the spot every time I order it!

Samm189 about 2 months ago

Chicken Parmesan

Wonderful! Great dinner, best part. I've had! Would order more if there was delivery!

Kbelanger777 2 months ago

Gnocchi Saute

This dish is heaven on earth! We are Italian and have been eating gnocchi our entire life at home and at restaurants. This is hands down the best gnocchi we have ever tasted! Between the texture of the gnocchi and the taste of the sauce it is exceptional! When we go out to eat my entire family orders the dish and eats every last bit. We just can't get enough of it! Every friend I have introduced this dish too feels the exact same way and devours it. We have been getting this dish for years now. It still managed to taste phenomenal even through quarantine takeout! Thank you Varano's!

Dkvenbch 2 months ago

Piccata

My favorite dish at Varano's! In fact, I've never had chicken piccata that is a fantastic as their version. The chicken was cooked perfectly & the sauce of butter, white wine, lemon & capers was perfectly balanced. The Caesar salad is fantastic too! I order it every time I eat there. In my opinion, Varano's is the best Italian restaurant in the Wells area & beyond.

Jennifer 3 months ago

Seafood Fettucini

I also added artichokes to it & it is absolutely amazing ❤️

Rtremblay 3 months ago

Veal Parmesan

Ordered Sat. evening April 4th two veal parm for supper. Found very easy to order,staff as usual was very friendly and accommodating.Instructions were very easy. Supper was ,as usual ,great. Finished our take out tonight. Food was great but still not as good as when we can eat with all of you. Thanks and we will order again . Stay Safe

Brian 3 months ago

Chicken Parmesan

It's hard to choose one dish to review because they are all so good, but the chicken parmesan is just so satisfying on so many levels. Is there a bigger piece of chicken on the southern Maine coast? Unlikely. And it's cooked to perfection every time - tender and juicy inside with a nice crust on the outside that adds a welcome texture. It's topped off with Varano's legendary sauce [gravy to some] that has such great 'comfort' to it. Of course, it has a terrific parmesan cheese finish, all over a bed of your favorite pasta. The portion is so generous, you can usually get 2 meals out of it, but sometimes I just can't stop eating it. Pair it with a nice bottle of sangiovese and you'll find yourself in southern Italy rather than southern Maine.

Nancyseacoast 3 months ago

Eggplant Parmigiana

😋 yummy!

Joanne 4 months ago

Fried Calamari

OMGosh! So GOOD and plenty!

Cdraper38 4 months ago

Chicken Parmesan

Best Chicken Parmesan that i have ever had in my life. Homemade sauce, perfect chicken & penne. I get this meal every time that I come to Varano's. This is my main dish & I wouldn't have it any other way.

Jmkolias 4 months ago

Eggplant Parmesan

Great flavor and portion - had to take some home. Be back again since my husband also liked the Chicken Parmesan.

Kafisher7 5 months ago

Orvieto

One word—Delicious! Highly recommend!! You will not be disappointed.

Anthony 5 months ago

Chicken Parmesan

We loved our Dinner, Chicken Parmesan was Amazing! Service was wonderful, and we are so glad we found this Gem of a restaurant!

Praby 5 months ago

Eggplant Parmesan

This place is a wow for me. The Eggplant Parm, the Calamari, the fresh parm amd garlic and olive oil to dip your bread is truly one of a kind. Always a must when I am around!

Mgc43 5 months ago

Chicken Parmesan

Their chicken Parmesan is my favorite. The portion is huge. So I get to take any leftovers home. And if you don't see what you want on the menu, just ask. They are very accommodating. My son is a vegan and this is only one of the few places he can get something tasty to eat. Can't wait until they open up for lunch again.

Jcmdonnelly 5 months ago

Chicken Braccioletine

One of the best dishes I've ever headland would get it again next time in. No other restaurants have this dish at least the ones I've been to. My compliments to the chef!

Wayne 5 months ago

Veal Parmesan

You know a place is good when you use to work there, rave to friends about how good it is, and then compare other italian restaurant meals to the dishes you have eaten at Varano's. It has been almost 20 years since I have worked there, and still, I go back at LEAST once a month with friends and family.

Patricia 5 months ago

Orvieto

My favorite is the chicken 0rvieto ( they have veal) mushrooms, kalamata olives with artichoke hearts in a white sauce, this is to die for. The service is always outstanding! PS the bread and oil yummy!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

June 2020:
Coming Soon

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA