Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Varano's Ristorante Italiano. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

By submitting, you agree to our , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Rptrav about 8 hours ago

Shrimp Scampi

There Truly is Not One Entree on the Menu That Isn't Spectacular!!

Dan 2 days ago

Veal Parmesan

I started with an order of pasta fagioli, and was charmed by the Chef's unique take on this timeless standard. I choose veal parmigiana for my entree, and a great choice it was! Seeing that I'd exhausted the bread basket's ample suppy, our waitress offered to bring more. I'm glad I declined, because as it was I ended up taking home a well filled doggie bag. Good, er...no: great stuff!!

Rptrav 7 days ago

Orvieto

I have been going to Varanos for many years and unlike some restaurants I have never been disappointed. From the moment you walk in the door and greeted by Roger and his staff to sitting down and having a phenomenal dinner I highly recommend this restaurant. The Best!!

Nicovarano123 10 days ago

Chicken Parmesan

My meal was amazing and service was great. I believe I am related to the owner of this restaurant.

Mviens 11 days ago

Marsala

This is by far the best Italian food my husband and I have had. Beats out the north end Boston even. The owner is Always on site to greet AND you see him helping the staff. Eating at the bar is also fun. Gordon is wonderful.

186bridgestberlin 17 days ago

Fettuccini Alfredo

I ordered broccoli with the fettuccini alfredo and I must say it was the best fettuccini alfredo dish I have ever had in my life. The entree is one that I can actually finish, whereas most other restaurants make it much too heavy. The cream sauce and pasta are the perfect amounts for an entree, not leaving me with that tired, uncomfortably full feeling. The salad and appetizers my table shared were also outstanding. Jill, LeeAnn, and all of the other waitresses are always so pleasant and accommodating at each visit when I dine here with my family.

Lks9 22 days ago

Orvieto

Had our first visit. Brandy our server was fantastic and the food was wonderful. We have made this our new top spot in wells and look forward to trying many more dishes.

Judyex9 24 days ago

Seafood Fettucini

Absolutely delicious! Lots of seafood, big chunks of lobster, scallops & shrimp. Nice atmosphere, quaint Italy Restaurant. You know the food is going to be good when walk in & smell all the delicious aromas of Italian food. We make a point of eating here every time we vacation in Maine.

Dlconnolly48 25 days ago

Veal Parmesan

Started with Bruschetta and it was delicious Had the veal parmigiana for my meal and it's one of the best I have ever had. Service was outstanding Have been here many times and will continue to come 5 Stars

Spencebj19 about 1 month ago

Bruschetta

Have had the bruschetta twice. The first time it was amazing. The tomatoes tasted garden fresh and the ciabatta perfectly toasted. The second time the ciabatta was burnt which overpowered the other ingredients. Deciding whether to give it another try!

Victorea about 1 month ago

Orvieto

Exceptional Service and Amazing Italian Food! We arrived shortly after they opened (4:30 p.m.) on 9/4/2019. We were seated at a lovely window table without asking for a window. Awesome! Shannon (our server) was welcoming and patient. She is an exceptional server who was knowledgable about all dishes on the menu. Shannon even refilled my sparkling water glass from the quart bottle as though it were a fine wine! She is a wonderful asset to Varano's! My companion was very pleased with her cheese ravioli and meatballs. I had Chicken Orvieto - sautéed with mushrooms, artichoke hearts & kalamata olives in a lemon white wine butter sauce. Delicious! We started with crusty warm Italian bread and a plate of garlic and olive oil. The Caprese salad was to live for! Of course, we brought home leftovers. Varano's was a delightful find in the heart of Wells, Maine. We live in Kentucky and wish Varano's was closer!!

Candace about 2 months ago

Chicken Parmesan

My husband and I visited August 25th. We were cares for by Julia G. Who was a joy. My husband had the Chicken Parmesan and I had the absolutely delicious Salmon Special. We will certainly be back

Joycegraves298 about 2 months ago

Seafood Fettucini

What a great place. The food was amazing. Arrive with an appetite as the portions are very big. Great atmosphere. Our waitress was very attentive. We are headed back for a second night on our vacation. YUM!!

Nitynan about 2 months ago

Orvieto

The veal orvieto was delicious. I also had the buttered broccolini which had just the perfect amount of garlic, and both were cooked to perfection. I've eaten and had take out and both were excellent. This is by far the best Italian restaurant in the area.

Kathy 2 months ago

Veal Parmesan

Out of this world delicious! The veal was cooked to perfection and large enough that I enjoyed two meals from it. We celebrated my husbands 70th birthday at Varanos and ordered bruchetta appetizer, prior to our entrees, best we've had in Maine! Would highly recommend Varanos to statisfy your Italian meal need.

Alexander 2 months ago

Seafood Fettucini

I get this dish every time I visit Varano's. It is absolutely delicious!! I also get the Arancini as an appetizer. If I wasn't in a restaurant I would lick the bowl clean. It's that good. The service is great, very friendly every time. In the summer time you may need to wait for an hour or more to get a table, but it's totally worth the wait.

Avamonique1 2 months ago

Steamed Mussels

Absolutely fantastic! The biggest mussels I ever had! The red sauce was delicious with a little bite to it. We're here again, 4 days later for another great meal.

Cheryl 2 months ago

Fried Calamari

So sweet and tender. Rings and tentacles (my favorite) Their batter is very light.

Joeb4d 2 months ago

Shrimp Scampi

OMG the best Shrimp Scampi I've ever had. I make it, but it never comes close to Varano's. Would definitely order it again.

Dan 2 days ago

Rigatoni Bolognese

Although I thoroughly enjoyed the veal parmigiana I ordered, I confess to having eaten the contents of my girlfriend's doggie bag: most of an order of rigatoni bolegnese. This dish is fantastic! The blend of veal, pork and beef is simply exquisite, and it was well worth however much time I'll spend in the dog house for having wolfed it down.

Mrs 4 days ago

Chicken Parmesan

Wonderful atmosphere, delicious food with good portions, friendly staff. This was our first visit, but we will be back. Thank you for making our anniversary special.

Jasontremblay 8 days ago

Seafood Fettucini

The dish had a wonderful flavor of gorgonzola and a piece of seafood in every bit. A taste of heaven!!

Ang2890 11 days ago

Eggplant Parmesan

This restaurant is amazing!!! I brought my fiance here for her birthday and we couldnt have asked for a better experience. From the service to the food, this place is a five star location. We can't wait to come back!

Gorham60f35 12 days ago

Eggplant Parmesan

We love Varano's and travel 2 1/2 hours one way just to enjoy their deliciousness. I pretty much always get the eggplant parm which is awesome! I always have leftovers for lunch the next day which my co workers envy. Hubby tries different things and everything we have tried is fantastic. Great staff and great food

Mjarrott 20 days ago

Chicken Parmesan

I'm a big fan of veal and eggplant parmesan but I continue to order the chicken parmesan because it is excellent. I'm Italian and make a very good tomato sauce, but Varano's is very similar to mine and it is rare for me to find that in an Italian restaurant. Also, portions are very generous.

Sydney 23 days ago

Cannoli Stuffed French Toast

I have never been a fan of ordering french toast for breakfast. At most places, it comes soggy, semi-warm, and just blech. THIS however, is by far the best french toast that I have ever had. The cannoli filling is to die for and it is not soggy. The strawberry sauce on top is also amazing. Personally, I wish they offered a raspberry alternative, but the strawberry is very good. This is my go-to for brunch!

Dlconnolly48 25 days ago

Bruschetta

I have had this many times and it was delicious. This last time they changed it up and the Tomatoes were too big!! Much better when cut smaller so you can put it on the bread. The bread was also burned

Kabonafilia 27 days ago

Linguine or Penne With Bolognese

Delicious the sauce was seasoned and slow simmered to perfection. The wine that was recommended Colosi Nero D'Avola was do good..even to the last drop. You can not beat Varano's for wonderful food, welcoming atmosphere and views of the ocean. Really what could be better!

Barry about 1 month ago

Chicken Parmesan

Have had several times, always excellent, also always too much to finish....

Jo Ann about 2 months ago

Veal Parmesan

Best Veal Parm! Excellent presentation, marinara sauce was delicious. Would definitely recommend this Restaurant for anyone looking for good Italian food.

Sherit123 about 2 months ago

Antipasto Salad

My husband and I have been coming back here ever since we found it. Best of everything, starting with the antipasto. All meals we have tried were superb sausage, chicken parmesan , veal parmesean, steak etc..❣️ We moved to SC 3 years ago and can't wait to find our way back to Varano's restaurant. coming up soon. DELICIOUS 😋

Staysea71 about 2 months ago

Chicken Braccioletine

I have had this dish at least 8 times. Now that it it is finally back on the menu it will be 9 and counting.

Jazzsinging about 2 months ago

Fettuccini Alfredo

We were here for a few days and got a recommendation from our landlord. Wow we loved you! Our waitress was sweet, friendly and competent😁 the bread...oil, garlic and Parmesan! Never had THAT before! Even the tossed salad...what restaurant uses mixed greens instead of iceberg? The fettuccini (and ravioli) was excellent! Oh yah, the Bay Breeze was perfect! If we lived here, we'd come ALL THE TIME! Thanks SO much!😘

Louis 2 months ago

Caesar Salad

Julius Caesar of "Et tu Varano's" fame would give this two thumbs up. All this good stuff and anchovies included.

Karendel11 2 months ago

Rigatoni Bolognese

The Rigatoni Bolognese is the best. The only problem is I will not order anything else. My husband does though and loves everything he has ordered.

Cheryl 2 months ago

Veal Chop

This is my all time favorite. A dish you can't get just anywhere. The white truffle butter heightens the flavor of the melt-in-your-mouth veal. It's worth every penny you pay for it.

Cheryl 2 months ago

Arancini

So delicious. Nice flavor but very filling.



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

September:
Announced soon

August:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill - Columbus, GA

July:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet - Buffalo, NY

June:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar - Cape Cod, MA

May:
Karen, This Little Pig - Amherst, NY

April:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria - Atlanta, GA